Too late now

So, I was going to do a part two of my summer vacation. It’s mid-October, so I say screw it. Here’s what I did: taught lessons, did a lot of knitting, drove to Massachusetts, had a miserable vacation, drove back, did some more knitting, taught some more lessons, turned 35. The end.

Moving on…..

I joined the Indianapolis Symphonic Choir this year. It’s been fun so far. We’ve done two shows. The first was Carmina Burana with the Indianapolis Symphony and the Indianapolis Children’s Choir. That was pretty awesome. The new principal conductor for the ISO is absolutely incredible. It was a lot of fun to work with him. (Bonus: he’s hot.)

The second concert I was a little skeptical of. It was called “Do You Hear the People Sing” and it was a celebration of the works of Claude-Michel Schonberg and Alain Boublil, the composer and lyricist of such shows as “Les Miserables” and “Miss Saigon.” Now, those are both great shows, but I feel like they’ve been done. “Les Mis” has been running in London for 25 years. There have been two anniversary concerts. It’s been translated into eleventy languages. There will be a new production of “Miss Saigon” opening in London in 2013. I thought it might be time for those two to start working on something new.

Well, as it turns out, I had a great time anyway. The solists include Lea Salonga, who is just amazing. (And really, really tiny. I might have sort of almost accosted her backstage and I think it frightened her because I am *not* really, really tiny.) Schonberg and Boublil were oh so French and really just a hoot. I learned a lot, too, which is never bad thing. I think the most important thing I discovered, though, is that I really just need to stick to singing classical music. I was not meant to be a musical theatre star.

Now I’m back in the swing of a full schedule. My students alternate between charming and not-so-charming. My mantra was “I can’t. I have rehearsal.” for a few weeks there, but things are settling back down. For now. December, as is generally the case for musicians, is going to be a madhouse. I’ve got three concerts, a church service with a major work by Respighi, and at least two services on Christmas Eve. Now if only I were paid for it all….

About Tammany

40 something who still doesn't know what she wants to be when she grows up.
This entry was posted in life, music. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Too late now

  1. RedScot says:

    More chest, less head? (Plus a billion other things that I can’t do!) I’ve attempted musical theatre singing once and it was an unmitigated disaster – I can only remember that one piece of advice and it wasn’t particularly helpful! Sounds like it was fun, just the same! Good luck for December!

Leave a comment